Vienna day trip part 2 – Hofburg

In the afternoon, I went to the Hofburg to see the Sisi Museum. I have heard of her from my history class back in middle school and I knew that there were a few movies about her. It is just amazing to see things that I have only seen on textbooks! At the ticket counter, I then realized that the ticket includes the Silver Museum, Sisi Museum, and a tour of their apartment. Great!

The silver museum show cases all the dinning stuff, cutlery, plates, cups, table decorations, and a lot more. Royals were quite luxurious! My pictures won’t really show the luxurious feeling though… If you know me well, you know why 😛

Out of all the pictures, this is probably the most expensive looking one. This is only half of the table, and look at all the pieces!

Decorative pieces on table

This lobster plate is the one I like the most out of the entire collection in the museum 🙂

The plate I want the most! Huge lobster!

According to the audio guide, this is the top secret among the napkin artist/dining service people! The instruction for making this one is only taught to the selected persons. Only words, no written instructions! Right now, only two people know how to make it.

The napkin art!

The more playful ones 🙂 For decoration only though.

Napkin art

a crab!

I then visited the Sisi Museum and the royal apartment where she and Franz Joseph 1 (her husband) lived. However, I couldn’t take pictures there. It was very impressive too. I do find Sisi’s story kind of sad though 😦

entrance to the Sisi Museum

After visiting these three museums, I was super tired. I tried the traditional Apfelstrudel with ice-cream at the Hofburg cafe. Well, traditional as claimed by the cafe, of course 😛 It was quite good, but I couldn’t really decide if I like this one better or the one from Richtree in Toronto.

Traditional Apfelstrudel with ice-cream at Hofburg cafe

After getting some rest, I went to the Neue Burg which is another three museums in one. I only had around 1.5 hr so it was very rushed. It consists of the Sammlung Alter Musikinstrumente (Collection of Ancient Musical Instruments, the Hofjagd und Rüstkammer (Arms and Armour), and the Ephesos Museum. I liked the ancient music one the most. I didn’t have enough time for the Ephesos Museum, but I think it would be a very rich collection that I could spend few hours on it to understand the history of those sculptures. The armour one just felt a little bit creepy to me XD

inside of Neue Burg

the thing before piano?

Despite I enjoyed listening to the history of these ancient instruments, as soon as I turned to the next one, I forgot about it 😦

Portable ancient organ ??

Full harmonic ... piano?? Whatever full harmonic means...

This piano was in one of the world fair in France in 80’s I think. The first impression I got was … Pharaoh’s piano!!

Super fancy piano

To the Arms and Armour Museum

Knights

in Ephesos Museum

After I was kicked out of the museum, it was sunset/twilight time already. The city hall looks amazing!

Rathaus at sunset

Neue Burg in the evening

It was the end of my visit in Vienna. On my way to the train station, I passed by a famous chocolate shop (according to other blogs :P). It’s the Sacher Cafe. The line up was pretty long so I decided to pack a piece of the chocolate torte to go.

Sacher Cafe

Sacher torte

I later had the torte while I was on the train. I was totally amazed! I was so good! The top chocolate layer was slightly sour. With the rest, it was not too sweet and the slight sourness gave the chocolate torte a very smooth taste. It felt more like dark chocolate to me too. Yes, if you do go to Vienna, I would recommend that you have one piece as well!

After I got back to Linz, I still had to take bus to go back to Hagenberg. I took a bus that I haven’t taken before, and the online schedule planner instructed me to bus to one place and then transfer. The transferring bus station was in a pretty remote and industrial looking area. When I got there, I couldn’t find the right bus stop. I was asking a bus driver to make sure I was at the right station and continued to search for the right bus stop within the station. I’m sure I looked pretty lost. Then I found an old guy was staring at me, and one guy was banging on the window while in a bus and yelling at me. I was just freaking out ><

At the beginning, there were so many people waiting there, like 40 people. Then, in like 5 minutes, I think about 10 buses came, and everyone left. I continued to wait, but then the bus was late for 15 minutes already! I was so worried and thinking that I would be trapped in this remote bus station for tonight! It would be so dangerous! I was praying and couldn’t stop thinking about the bad things that could happen >< Luckily, I found a bus that would be going back to the main bus station and it was scheduled to come in 5 minutes. Right after I found out that, the bus came! However, the driver doesn’t speak English. I was asking what time will the bus arrive at the main bus station because I wanted to make sure that I will get there before the last bus leaving for Hagenberg. The driver said 4 minutes, then 3 minutes. I immediately realized that he was referring to when he will leave. In the end, I gave up. The bus driver was very nice though. He helped me to buy the ticket at the machine and told me when to get off. Anyway, I got home safely last night, but I was so anxious and too scared to go to bed ><

Hope you enjoyed the pictures and my adventure 😛

Leave a comment