Exploring Linz … Again!

Time really flies! It has been a month and half since I got here. I feel like at home now 🙂 For undergrads here, the new semester just started this week and there are some new international students! We went to Linz together on Saturday. I have to first apologize for the quality of the pictures though. I forgot to bring my camera. I wasn’t expecting to visit museums, either. I took these pictures with my phone.

It was the day for the Saturday flea market! You could find all sorta stuff here. They are interesting, but you know… flea market isn’t that fashionable or high-tech.

Saturday flea market! From headphones, tv sets, clothing, old post cards, books to cookware!

We have a map and a tour book from the tourist information center, but we were just wandering around. Then, we found this very nice cathedral. It’s called Mariendom (St. Mary’s Cathedral).

The tower at Mariendom

Well, limited by my photography skill and the camera on my phone, I then took a picture of a post card to show what it’s supposed to look like with professional photography! Btw, you can see my new shoes for just 15 euro. I got a big discount probably because it’s size 9.5 and they have a hard time selling it 😛

post card

Compared to a lot of other fancy and highly (almost extravagant) decorated/crafted cathedrals, Mariendom is definitely a lot more low-key. I like it a lot! It doesn’t have the excessively crafted pillar and colourful mural. Instead, it has beautiful stained glasses.

There were a lot more stained glasses in the cathedral

more stained glass

close up

After visiting the cathedral, we took a walk along the Danube river. It was sunny and relaxing!

Looking at ARS Electronica on the other side of the Danube river

There was a sculpture park along the river. As expected, it was full of art pieces that we couldn’t recognize. One of us decided to climb onto one sculpture and took picture. Right after he posed, the siren started to sound, and he got down pretty fast.We were debating if it was a coincidence or he should start running, and then the siren stopped within 10 seconds. So… if you do visit the sculpture park, you are being watched 😛

Supposed to be an elephant... It's more evident from the other side.

We passed by the Lentos Art Museum on our way back to the city center. There is an exhibition on cars right now, and we saw some interesting stuff.

A flying car !?

A suspended beetle

A jailed car !?

After lunch, some good rest, and a long discussion, we decided to visit the Schlossmuseum ( also called castle museum). It was up on the hill, and the view was great there.

A nice view of the city from the Schloss museum

Another angle

Photography was not allowed in the museum so there’s no picture 😦 It was a very nice museum though, and had a lot more exhibition than I expected. There were exhibitions on paintings, amours, music instruments, nature, technology, Catholic related things, coins, and more! The most memorable one I saw was the nature one. There was aquarium and a lot of animal and plant models, including mushrooms ❤

That was basically the end of our visit in Linz. It was a super tiring day, and my legs are still sour >< Right now, I am excited about visiting other cities in Austria. The next one would probably be Salzburg and Hallstatt! They seem to be highly recommended by other tourism blogs.

I have been blogging mostly about my travel adventures. On weekdays, I have been  pretty productive in research and going home no later than 7pm! I have a lot more free time compared to when I was in Waterloo, and it feels pretty luxurious to be going home and not working 😛 As I will be leaving at the end of June, I feel that my time here is precious. I try to plan for my weekends and make good use of my free time. I feel that I’m in a very different mindset right now, and it seems to be a good change! I’m getting to sort of understand what does it mean to live as this is your last day. Anyway, hope you enjoyed reading the post:)

 

Leave a comment